School of Pharmacy

School of Pharmacy News

User uploaded custom header image
Category results for: Preceptors

Leader of VCU School of Pharmacy at UVA seeks to further collaboration and boost enrollment

By Leah SmallFor VCU School of Pharmacy Robert Guanci, Pharm.D., assistant dean for the VCU School of Pharmacy at UVA Division and chief pharmacy officer for the UVA Health System, stepped into those roles in August 2021, having served in an interim capacity since 2019. In this Q&A he shares his vision for the educational […]

Colonial Williamsburg internship gives Pharm.D. students chance ‘to do something unusual’

By Greg WeatherfordSchool of Mortar and pestle? All set. Pill-rolling molds? Check. Bonnet and corset? Check and check. Leeches? Hold on … For their fourth and final year of school, Virginia Commonwealth University pharmacy students travel across the country or the world for a series of five-week internships in professional settings. They usually can […]

Service awards to recognize SOP employees on 190 years

If fall is approaching, it must be time to recognize VCU employees for their service to the university! This year, 18 School of Pharmacy employees will be honored for a total of 190 years of service to VCU. The 20-year employees – Don Brophy, Chris Garland, Mike Hindle, Michelle Rhea and Martin Safo — represent all […]

Pharm.D. and graduate students earn a plethora of year-end awards

  SENIOR AWARDS BANQUET Members of the VCU School of Pharmacy Pharm.D. class of 2017 were honored during the annual Senior Awards Banquet, which took place May 12 at the Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa at Short Pump. Awards were presented by Dean Joseph T. DiPiro and K.C. Ogbonna, associate dean for admissions and student services, with the assistance […]

Office of Experiential Education announces SOP’s 2016-17 outstanding preceptors

  Neil Davis of Sentara Virginia Beach General Hospital has been named VCU School of Pharmacy’s Preceptor of the Year. He has been a preceptor for the school in Acute Care I/General Medicine APPE and Acute Care II/Critical Care APPE since 1998. He earned his Pharm.D. from the University of Georgia in 1995 — where, […]

With Dixon at helm, CPPI working to empower tomorrow’s pharmacists

  By Lisa Crutchfield Dave L. Dixon, the new director of the VCU School of Pharmacy Center for Pharmacy Practice Innovation, says the center is poised to help transform health care delivery and to ensure that tomorrow’s pharmacists have myriad opportunities. With Dixon now at the helm, the CPPI is getting ready to move into […]

Executive residency programs have their advantages

  Thanks to fourth-year Pharm.D. student Kalyann Kauv for providing a look at an executive residency program for Pharm.D. graduates, in this case at the National Community Pharmacists Association. She wrote this piece as part of her managed care rotation earlier this year. The National Community Pharmacists Association, previously known as the National Association of Retail […]

SOP alumna named 2017-18 policy fellow

  Nilofar “Nellie” Jafari has been named the 2017-18 Congressional Healthcare Policy Fellow by the Virginia Commonwealth University School of Pharmacy in collaboration with the American College of Clinical Pharmacy and the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists. Jafari now is completing a two-year postgraduate residency in health-system pharmacy administration at Allegheny General Hospital in Pittsburgh and also […]

CCPR preparing to make its programmatic debut

  VCU School of Pharmacy’s Center for Compounding Practice and Research has completed its first phase, says director Barbara Exum: successfully launching the transition of second- and third-year Pharm.D. students “in gaining hands-on experience in our state-of-the-art sterile compounding facility.” Phase 2, she notes, is building off of Phase 1 to include training opportunities in […]

SOP alumna Snead to receive APhA Foundation’s Jacob W. Miller Award

  VCU School of Pharmacy alumna Rebecca Snead (B.S. ’85) has been named the 2017 recipient of the American Pharmacists Association Foundation’s Jacob W. Miller Award. Snead, who is executive vice president and CEO of the National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations, will be honored at the APhA 2017 Annual Meeting & Exposition in San Francisco. […]

Next Page »