VCU School of Nursing News Archive

Visit for news features published after November 2023

User uploaded custom header image

The VCU School of Nursing recently held its 22nd Annual Sadie Heath Cabaniss Society Dinner at the Jefferson Hotel to recognize donors and share the impact of their contributions.

“This really is a celebration of our shared commitment to the VCU School of Nursing,” Dean Jean Giddens, Ph.D., RN, FAAN, the Doris B. Yingling Endowed Chair, told attendees. “Our faculty, staff and students are so grateful for your generosity to our school.”

The Cabaniss Society was established to recognize significant annual giving to the school and to honor Sadie Heath Cabaniss, who is widely recognized as the school’s founder. Membership is comprised of individuals who have donated at least $500 or more in a fiscal year.

As part of the annual dinner, Giddens and Kate Haydon, senior director of development, presented a commemorative Cabaniss plate to first-time distinguished donors — individuals who have contributed $1,000 or more in a fiscal year. First-time distinguished donors who were present include:

  • Carla Nye, DNP, CPNP-BC, CNE, CHSE, director of the Clinical Learning Center
  • Mary Kay Goldschmidt, DNP, RN, APHN-BC, clinical assistant professor in the Department of Family and Community Health Nursing
  • Susan S. Wolf (B.S.’87/N), Medicare compliance nurse team lead at Sedgwick
  • Lauren Valero (B.S.’15/N), staff RN at Stafford Hospital
  • Col. Myron Cale (Ret)

If you’re interested in becoming a member of the Cabaniss Society, please contact Kate Haydon at (804) 827-0027 or via email View a photo album of the dinner on our Facebook page.


First-time distinguished donors with their commemorative Cabaniss plates





Categories Alumni and Friends, Events
Tagged , ,