School of Pharmacy

School of Pharmacy News

User uploaded custom header image

Qingguo Xu, assistant professor in the Department of Pharmaceutics, holds his award. He is accompanied by John Ryan, VCU associate vice president for research development, and the School of Pharmacy’s Aron Lichtman, associate dean, and Dean Joseph DiPiro.

Qingguo Xu, an assistant professor in the Department of Pharmaceutics, has received the Ralph E. Powe Award from Oak Ridge Associated Universities to support research by junior faculty.

The annual Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Awards provide seed money for research by junior faculty at ORAU member institutions. These awards are intended to enrich the research and professional growth of young faculty and result in new funding opportunities, according to the organization.

VCU last received a Powe award in 2012.

Oak Ridge Associated Universities is a consortium of Ph.D.-granting institutions based in Tennessee and affiliated with the Oak Ridge National Labs, the largest science and energy laboratory in the United States, and the Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education, supported by the U.S. Department of Energy.

Learn more about the Powe award here.

Categories Faculty news, Research