VCU School of Nursing News Archive

Visit for news features published after November 2023

User uploaded custom header image

Two Virginia Commonwealth University School of Nursing faculty members will receive one of the most prestigious honors in nursing this fall when they are inducted as Fellows into the American Academy of Nursing.

Amy Salisbury, Ph.D., Ph.D., LNP, PMH-CNS, BC, professor and associate dean for research, scholarship, and innovation, and Shelly Smith, DNP, APRN-BC, FNAP (M.S.’01/N), clinical associate professor and director of graduate clinical programs, are among 225 nurse leaders selected to join the Academy 2021 Class of Fellows. The inductees will be recognized for their significant contributions to health and health care at the Academy’s annual Health Policy Conference, set for October 7-9, 2021.

“I am thrilled to welcome another exceptional class of Fellows to the American Academy of Nursing during a momentous time of change and progress in our collective efforts to fulfill the organization’s vision of healthy lives for all people,” said Academy President Eileen Sullivan-Marx, Ph.D., RN, FAAN. “The Academy aims to improve health and achieve health equity through nursing leadership, innovation, and science. The Academy’s Fellows embody our values of equity, diversity and inclusivity, inquiry, integrity, and courage, which enable us to achieve new heights of impact that advance health policy across the globe. Congratulations to this dynamic cohort of leaders who bring diverse experience and expertise to the Fellowship.” 

The newest Fellows represent 38 states, the District of Columbia, and 17 countries. In welcoming these Fellows, the Academy will be comprised of more than 2,900 nursing leaders who are experts in policy, research, administration, practice, and academia who champion health and wellness, locally and globally. 

Salisbury, a leading nurse scientist and clinician, has contributed significantly to teaching, research and clinical nursing for more than 20 years.  She has been published in numerous journals and has presented nationally and internationally.

Amy Salisbury

Salisbury’s research and clinical interests include neurobehavioral development, fetal and infant development, sleep development and disorders, perinatal and infant mental health, prenatal exposures, autism, and child psychopathology. Through her work, she has developed a standardized protocol for fetal neurobehavioral assessment combining ultrasound recorded fetal behaviors and fetal heart rate monitoring, called the Fetal Neurobehavioral Coding System (FENS). FENS has been used in numerous grant funded projects, including two nationally and one internationally.

Smith, a policy and practice scholar, completed a policy fellowship at the L. Douglas Wilder School of Government and Public Affairs at VCU. Her fellowship work focused on translating nurse practitioner outcomes research into public policy, which informed Virginia House Bill 793: Nurse practitioners, practice agreements.

Shelly Smith

The author of numerous publications, Smith is currently the inaugural Translational Research Fellow in Residence at the Wilder School’s Center for Public Policy. She is also an affiliate scholar to the VCU Langston Center for Innovation in Quality and Safety and serves as the only nurse representative on Academy Health’s State Health Research and Policy Interest Group Advisory Committee.

Smith has been recognized with numerous awards, including an honorable mention as one of the Virginia Nurses Association’s Virginia’s Top 40 under 40 nurses in 2015, the Donna Campanella Distinguished Nurse Practitioner award in 2018,  the Virginia Nurse Practitioner of Year award in 2019, and the 2021 American Association of Nurse Practitioners® Virginia State Award for Nurse Practitioner Excellence.

Salisbury and Smith join several VCU nursing faculty members who have already been recognized as AAN fellows. They include Jean Giddens, Ph.D., RN, FAAN, dean and professor; Michael Bleich, Ph.D., RN, FNAP, FAAN, senior professor and director of the Langston Center for Innovation in Quality and Safety; Pam Parsons, Ph.D., GNP-BC, FNAP, FAAN, associate professor and associate dean of practice and community engagement; Nancy Jallo, Ph.D., RNC, FNP-BC, WHNP-BC, CNS, FAAN; associate professor; Patricia Kinser, Ph.D., RN, WHNP-BC, FNAP (B.S.’03/N; M.S. ’04/N), FAAN, professor; Suzanne Ameringer, Ph.D., RN, FAAN, professor and assistant dean of research, scholarship, and innovation; and Theresa Swift Scanlan, Ph.D., RN, FAAN, professor and director of biobehavioral laboratory services.

The following faculty emeriti are also fellows: Nancy Langston, Ph.D., RN, FAAN; Mary Jo Grap, Ph.D., RN, ACNP, FAAN; Judith B. Collins, RN, WHNP-BC, FAAN (Cert.’75/N); Nancy McCain, Ph.D., RN, FAAN; Debra Lyon, Ph.D., RN, FAAN; Cindy Munro, RN, ANP-BC, FAAN, FAANP, FAAAS (Ph.D.’92/N; Cert.’97/N); Kathleen Sawin, Ph.D., CPNP-PC, FAAN; Inez Tuck, Ph.D., RN, M.B.A., M.Div., FAAN; Deborah McGuire, Ph.D., RN, FAAN; Judith A. Lewis, Ph.D.,RN, FAAN; and Rita Pickler, Ph.D., RN, PNP, APRN, BC, FAAN.

Categories Alumni and Friends, Faculty and Staff, News