VCU School of Nursing News Archive

Visit for news features published after November 2023

User uploaded custom header image

VCU School of Nursing recently held its 23rd Annual Sadie Heath Cabaniss Society Dinner at the Jefferson Hotel to honor donors who have made significant contributions to the school.

More than 120 faculty, staff, students, alumni and friends were on hand for the event, which included a reception, dinner, a funding priorities update and awards.

Jean Giddens, Ph.D., RN, FAAN, dean and the Doris B. Yingling Endowed Chair, thanked donors for their generosity and commitment to the school’s success.

“Your investment has made a tremendous impact on our ability to attract some really amazing students and faculty,” Giddens said.

The Cabaniss Society was established to recognize significant annual giving to the school and to honor Sadie Heath Cabaniss, who is widely recognized as the school’s founder. Membership is comprised of individuals who have donated at least $500 or more in a fiscal year.

As part of the dinner, Giddens and Kate Haydon, senior director of development, presented a commemorative Cabaniss plate to first-time distinguished donors — individuals who have contributed $1,000 or more in a fiscal year. First-time distinguished donors who were present include: Dr. Beth Rodgers, Matthew and Lauren Stover, Sherri Gretes (B.S.’75/N), and Drs. Mary and Karl Corley.

The dinner also included recognition of  the preceptor who has volunteered the most hours. Preceptors are experienced nurses or other health care professionals who volunteer to serve as mentors and guide the clinical practice experience of students. Giddens recognized Rumki Banerjee, M.D., a family medicine physician at Apex MD in Glen Allen. Banerjee precepted School of Nursing students for 3,111 hours – more than double any other volunteer on record.

Below are a few photos from the event. View more photos from the event on the School of Nursing Facebook page.

Dr. Beth Rodgers, Matthew and Lauren Stover, Sherri Gretes (B.S.’75/N), and Drs. Mary and Karl Corley.

Dr. Rumki Banerjee receives the Preceptor Award from Dean Jean Giddens.

Categories Alumni and Friends, Awards, Faculty and Staff
Tagged , ,