VCU School of Nursing news and events

Educating nurses from entry-level through the doctorate. Ranked in the top 4% of undergraduate nursing programs nationally.

User uploaded custom header image

VCU School of Nursing held its annual convocation Aug. 22 to welcome faculty and staff to a new academic year. The convocation included a State of the School address by Jean Giddens, Ph.D., RN, FAAN, dean and professor, as well as a guest speaker, Salvatore Tagliareni, discussing leadership. Other activities included team exercises to help faculty and staff get to know each other better and the presentation of faculty and staff awards.

A highlight of the event was an investiture ceremony to recognize Theresa Swift-Scanlan, Ph.D., RN, associate professor and director of biobehavioral laboratory services, as the Ellen Fontaine Winston Distinguished Professor. Marsha Rappley, M.D., VCU Health System chief executive officer and vice president for VCU health sciences, joined Dean Giddens in presenting Swift-Scanlan with the VCU Medallion For Endowed Faculty Honors.

The Ellen Fontaine Winston Distinguished Professorship was established as the result of an unrestricted bequest from the estate of Ellen Fontaine Winston in 2014. Ms. Winston is a 1947 graduate of the VCU School of Nursing. The professorship is designed to recruit highly talented faculty like Swift-Scanlan.

Another convocation highlight was the unveiling of the school’s new mission, vision and values as follows:

  • Mission – We shape the future of nursing through the power of education, discovery and collaboration.
  • Vision – VCU School of Nursing will be the destination for those committed to transforming health care.
  • Values – Integrity, Compassion, Diversity, Innovation, Collaboration

The convocation also included the presentation of the following faculty and staff awards:

  • Kimberly Davis, M.S., RN, CNE, clinical assistant professor – The Mabel E. Montgomery Award. This award is presented annually to a member of the faculty for excellence in clinical nursing as evidenced by innovation and excellence in clinical practice and generation and dissemination of clinical practice knowledge.
  • Shelly Orr, M.S.N., RN, CNE clinical assistant professor, and Susan Lindner, M.S.N., RNC-OB, clinical assistant professor – The DAISY Faculty Award. The DAISY Foundation established the DAISY Faculty Award to provide colleges/schools of nursing a national recognition program that they may use to demonstrate appreciate to their nursing faculty for their commitment and inspirational influence on their students.
  • Predrag Stojanovic, applications analyst, and Amy Heineman, office of research project coordinator – The Staff Excellence Award. This award is presented to two honorees who exceed the quality of service expectations; demonstrate extraordinary effort and collaboration; or exhibit overall outstanding work performance.
  • Carla Nye, DNP, RN, CPNP-PC, CNE, clinical associate professor and master’s program director – The Outstanding Faculty Award. This award recognizes the recipient for performance in teaching, scholarship or service or a combination of these.

View a photo album from the convocation on the school’s Facebook page.

Left to right: Dr. Marsha Rappley, Dr. Theresa Swift-Scanlan and Dean Jean Giddens

Categories Awards, Events, Faculty and Staff, News