VCU School of Nursing News Archive

Visit for news features published after November 2023

User uploaded custom header image

Leigh Small, Ph.D., RN, CPNP-PC, FNAP, FAANP, FAAN, associate professor and chair of the Department of Family and Community Health Nursing at Virginia Commonwealth University, was among 172 nurse leaders inducted as Fellows during the American Academy of Nursing’s 40th annual meeting held this past weekend in Washington, D.C.

The Academy is composed of more than 2,000 nurse leaders in education, management, practice, policy, and research. The Academy Fellows include hospital and government administrators, college deans, and renowned scientific researchers. With this new class, Fellows represent all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and 19 countries.

“Selection for fellowship in the Academy is one of the most prestigious honors in the field of nursing,” said Academy president Joanne Disch, Ph.D., RN, FAAN.

Selection criteria include evidence of significant contributions to nursing and health care and sponsorship by two current Academy Fellows. Applicants are reviewed by a panel comprised of elected and appointed Fellows, and selection is based, in part, on the extent the nominee’s nursing careers influenced health policies and the heath and wellbeing of all.

A nationally renowned nursing researcher, Small studies prevention and treatment interventions with obese/overweight young children and their parents to enhance parental and child outcomes; and young children who have experienced an unanticipated ICU hospitalization, and their parents.  She has published in several professional journals and has been nationally recognized for nursing education excellence.

Small earned a bachelor’s degree in nursing from Keuka College in Keuka, N.Y. and both a master’s degree in pediatric nursing and a Ph.D. in nursing from the University of Rochester School of Nursing in Rochester, N.Y.

Small is the eighth current VCU Nursing faculty member to be recognized as a Fellow in the American Academy of Nursing.  Past inductees include Jean Giddens, Ph.D., RN, FAAN, dean and professor; Mary Jo Grap, Ph.D., RN, ACNP, FAAN, Nursing Alumni Distinguished Professor; Linda Haddad, Ph.D., RN, FAAN, associate professor; Ann Hamric, Ph.D., RN, FAAN, professor and associate dean of academic programs; Debra Lyon, Ph.D., RN, FNP-BC, FNAP, FAAN, associate dean of research and the Judith B. Collins and Joseph M. Teefey Distinguished Professor; Nancy McCain, D.S.N., RN, FAAN, Nursing Alumni Distinguished Professor; and Deborah McGuire, Ph.D., RN, FAAN, the Florence E. Elliott Professor.

Dr. Leigh Small at the AAN Fellows Induction Ceremony
Dr. Leigh Small at the AAN Fellows Induction Ceremony
Categories Faculty and Staff
Tagged , , ,